Salah: Feeding your Imaan

As-salamu alaykum  السلام عليكم my Muslim sisters

Insh’Allah your all having a great Ramadan.

I know you probably have heard million of times the importance of Salah. I know I have throughout my life, even now.  I have always struggled in praying all my Salah but, now I have accomplished this issue by getting my perspective of Salah right. I am only going to try to let you know how I got my head around this issue and Insh’Allah you will benefit from this.

I first thought to myself that there must be a reason for the non-stop reminders for reading Salah and it must be a very important one? The reason for our parents or relatives constantly lecturing about this is because there is a significant power of Salah which I under-estimate and took for granted.

Salah is one of the most important things in a Muslim life (as we know) Salah is the second pillar of Islam, but did you notice Salah comes right after the pillar of Shahada (declaration of only one God) ? therefore for a Muslim to be a true Muslim they must have the belief that there is one God (including our Prophet Muhammad PBUH) and pray 5 times to the person who created them which is Allah SWT. Hence, why the shahada go hand in hand with the Salah. If we look even more closer into our 5 Pillars of Islam,you will notice that if we take one pillar out, the whole structure  will fall apart for example, if we take the pillar of Salah out then the whole structure will just fall. The same applies if we don’t read our Salah, then the rest of our Islamic practices will deteriorate and become un-balance.

I wanted to learn the actually meaning of the word Salah and this is what I found. The Linguistic root of Salat is ‘Silat’ which means “connection” or “contact”. It derives from the word “connection” (Silat) in that it connects the servant (us) to the creator (Allah). It is through Salah that we get our supplication answered and our needs fulfilled. If you look at it now, salah is the way for us to communicate to our Lord, to ask for forgiveness, help and relief from any pain and suffering we go through in our daily life. This is why we pray five times to get the daily doses of medicine for our soul.

Us Muslims know the amazing story of how Allah SWT took our beloved Prophet Muhammad PBUH to the highest rank of heaven (7th heaven) and commanded our prophet about reading Salah 50x which was reduced to 5x.  If we reflect upon that story it should be easy for us to follow our 5 daily Salah as our Prophet PBUH not once but, 3x tried to make it easy for us to pray by asking Allah SWT to reduce it for us . How can we not repay Muhammad PBUH effort and Allahs grace by obeying this command? This is our way to show our commitment to our faith.

When I looked at the basic detail of Salat (just as I mentioned above)  I began to see Salah as a review of our spirit and the reflection of part of the Quran. Its not always about the physical fitness or benefits but, even deeper. When my Salah was empty then my Deen was gone. I felt  like nothing was in my soul. It feeds our soul and we must keep it alive.

From a Lecture by Ustadh Nouman Ali Khan (one of my favourite Speaker)  Salah connects us by 3 ways:

1) Salah brings the Ummah together= it is the state of Ummah/Union. Allah SWT says “If Salah is good then the whole thing is good” .See what I meant by the whole structure of Pillar falling apart.

2) The Imaan and Salat are the same thing= If the Salah is good then my Imaan is good. To Allah Imaan is the same thing as Salah.

3) It is a daily reminder of Allah SWT= Allah says ‘Establish Salah so you can remmeber me’ 

The most important one is that Salah gives you the headstart to Jannah. It is stated in the Quran ‘Successful indeed are the believers. Those who offer their Salat’ – (23:1-11) 

I came to my senses and realised Salah is special and it shouldnt be taken lightly. I never before thought it was the very core part of our faith. It was the beginning for me to walk on the path of Islam.

Insh’Allah you learnt how special Salah is as I have come to learn. May Allah SWT encourage us to never give up our prayers.

Jazak Allah Kair for taking your time in reading this. Before I leave, here is a last bit to think about…..

If you still don’t pray  how will you answer to Allah? 

Allah Hafiz

Tasnia xo

prayer-2

Leave a Reply

